Skip to content

The Small Print


The Law Society’s Adjudication Committee of the Justice Media Awards will choose winning entries on the basis of:

  • Setting the highest standards in legal journalism
  • Information value and/or educational merit
  • Creativity
  • Thoroughness, and
  • Impact.

The Adjudication Committee may, or may not, elect to present Justice Media Awards or Merit Certificates in each category. The number of awards made will be at the discretion of the committee. Principal factors when judging will be:

  • The value of the entry in promoting the objectives outlined under ‘About the Awards‘,
  • The judging criteria listed above, and
  • Compliance with the rules of the competition.

No correspondence will be entered into in relation to judging criteria or judging decisions.

The presentation of an award by the Law Society will not be contingent upon, and will not necessarily represent, an endorsement by the Law Society of winning entrants’ views.


Any individual or media organisation that has published a newspaper article or has made a broadcast in Ireland is eligible to submit entries to the Justice Media Awards. There are exceptions. (Please see ‘Prohibitions’ below.) Entries may relate to the work of the legislature, judiciary, legal profession, law enforcement agencies, penal institutions or to the law itself – and may be either current, historical or futuristic.

Only materials originally published or broadcast during the period 1 March 2016 to 28 February 2017 will be considered. 

Entry is free – but there is a limit of three entries per journalist (or team of journalists) in each category.



The submitted articles/broadcasts must be intended for the general public and not a particular audience with specialist knowledge. The principal occupation of the author(s)/broadcaster(s) of entries in the respective categories must be one of the following: journalist, broadcaster or film-maker.

The competition is not open to legal publications primarily intended to be read by lawyers, or text books published for lawyers or law students.

Materials prepared by, or associated with, any member of staff of the Law Society or member of the Adjudication Committee of the Justice Media Awards are also ineligible.

Entries may be disqualified if they do not comply with the rules governing the form of submission of entries.